38. What happens after our death?

"Mark 16:15 preach the gospel to every creature. Matthew 28:20 Teaching them to observe (do) all things whatsoever I (Jesus Christ) have commanded: Revelation 22:13 I am Alpha and Omega .. 14 Blessed are they that do his commandments, .. they .. have right to the tree of life, and .. enter .. the city."


I am a retired pastor of the Church of God (Tennessee).
My name is Isaac Livingston. I am from Neyyoor India

This page editorial help: Sister Lynn near Atlanta, GA


At birth we have body and soul. At born-again we receive spirit. At death, body goes to dust. Spirit goes to God, who gave it. Born-again souls go to rest at Abraham's bosom, at paradise. In the end, they will join their glorified spirits and go to its respective heaven. Babies' or good souls that are killed go to paradise. Other souls will descend to hell in earth and to lake of fire.


Every baby is born with a body and a soul. In the process of growing up, as they attain their youth, they commit sins (Job 20:11, Psalms 25:7, Jeremiah 3:25). While most of them continue in sin, a few will repent and ask God for spiritual help to live a holy life. So, God gives his holy spirit in them, as a part of them and this spirit will quicken (give life to) their soul. This birth of the holy spirit in them, is called 'born again' in general or 'born of the spirit' in particular. So, the holy spirit will make the person, who was spiritually dead, to spiritual life (quicken). In short: A baby born is, 'born of the flesh.' As they grow to be adults, they commit sin and if they ask God for spiritual help not to commit sin, God gives the spirit into their soul. Jesus says John 3:6: "That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit." Jesus Christ mentions the physical birth of a person as 'born of the flesh', and the person receiving the holy spirit from God as 'born of the spirit.' The first birth is through the parents and the second birth is through God. In the second birth, the holy spirit is birthed into the person. So, this person will have body, soul, and spirit.

A born again person has a body, a soul, and a spirit. At death, the body will return to the dust as it came from the dust. "Genesis 3:19 In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread, till thou return unto the ground; for out of it wast thou taken: for dust thou art, and unto dust shalt thou return. Psalms 104:29 Thou hidest thy face, they are troubled: thou takest away their breath, they die, and return to their dust. Ecclesiastes 3:20 All go unto one place; all are of the dust, and all turn to dust again.  12:7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was:" God gave the person the spirit. This spirit will return to God. "Ecclesiastes 3:21 Who knoweth the spirit of man that goeth upward, ... 12:7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it." This spirit will come with Jesus Christ at the resurrection and will join its soul as the glorified body with all the glory. Until then the spirit will be with God.

The Soul is the real person. They will be judged according to what they have done. "2 Corinthians 5:9 Wherefore we labour, that, whether present or absent, we may be accepted of him. 10 For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things done in his body, according to that he hath done, whether it be good or bad. 11 Knowing therefore the terror of the Lord, we persuade men; but we are made manifest unto God; and I trust also are made manifest in your consciences." Souls, that had no chance to complete life, goes to paradise. "Luke 23:40 But the other answering rebuked him, saying, Dost not thou fear God, seeing thou art in the same condemnation? 41 And we indeed justly; for we receive the due reward of our deeds: but this man hath done nothing amiss. 42 And he said unto Jesus, Lord, remember me when thou comest into thy kingdom. 43 And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, To day shalt thou be with me in paradise." He was converted while he was on the cross, feared God, accepted that Jesus did nothing amiss and they were guilty, etc. He also got the revelation of God, seeing Jesus not as a dying man, but as king coming into his kingdom. In short, he was converted at the cross, but did not have a chance to live the righteous life. He was accepted into paradise, which is a part of the kingdom of God. So also, children, who had no chance to live their life also may be taken to paradise to complete their life. Then, the souls, which kept their spirit, will go to rest, which is known as Abraham's bosom, and then to the kingdom of God. Others will go to hell, which is inside earth, and then to the lake of fire. "Luke 16:22 And it came to pass, that the beggar died, and was carried by the angels into Abraham's bosom: the rich man also died, and was buried; 23 And in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, and seeth Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom. 24 And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame. 25 But Abraham said, Son, remember that thou in thy lifetime receivedst thy good things, and likewise Lazarus evil things: but now he is comforted, and thou art tormented. 26 And beside all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed: so that they which would pass from hence to you cannot; neither can they pass to us, that would come from thence." Here we see that Lazarus is comforted in a place called Abraham's bosom, and the rich man is tormented in the flames of hell. And every ungodly person will be thrown into hell, as in Revelation 19:20 and 20:10-15. Hell will also thrown into the lake of fire among all others. "Revelation 20:14 And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death.

These links will show the details of heaven: "Four Levels", "New Earth", "Heaven", and "New Heaven." Thank you.

God Bless You

Your Feedback